Watch Father Brown

Father Brown is a one-hour program broadcast on the BBC in the United Kingdom and on select PBS stations in the United States. The program is based on the Father Brown series of mysteries written by the British novelist and theologian G.K. Chesterton. The Father Brown television series is set in the 1950s in a fictional town in Britain. Father Brown serves as the village's Catholic priest. In most episodes, a murder is committed early on in the program. Inspector Valentine of the local police is called in to investigate. He usually makes a quick arrest, and it seems as if the case is solved.

Father Brown almost always disagrees with Inspector Valentine's assessment of a case. Father Brown then begins his own investigation into the crime. By using his skill in being able to get people to talk to him freely, the father is able to uncover the true culprit.

Veteran actor Mark Williams plays the title role in the series. Mr. Williams has appeared in many motion pictures and British comedies.

3 Seasons, 37 Episodes - Canceled/Ended
September 26, 1974
Crime, Drama
Watch Episodes

Father Brown Full Episode Guide

  • Father Brown is stunned to learn that Inspector Sullivan is wanted for murder.

  • Father Brown is told that Bishop Talbot will be assassinated.

  • Father Brown investigates when a dead man is found inside a locked bank vault.

  • A death at a stone circle leads Father Brown to conclude that dark forces are at work.

  • Father Brown visits Jacob, who has a new invention - a time machine.

  • Father Brown becomes embroiled in an audacious art heist masterminded by Flambeau.

  • When a body is discovered in a vineyard, Father Brown must search for the murderer.

  • Father Brown and his friends find themselves stranded at a hotel with a group of hedonists.

  • Father Brown must act fast to save a member of Kembleford's travelling community.

  • Father Brown witnesses the apparent suicide of a student but is convinced it is murder.

  • Father Brown investigates when Kembleford's new cricket captain is framed for murder.

  • Father Brown investigates a murder at the local army barracks.

  • The circus brings death to Kembleford when a clown is murdered.

  • After Sir Raleigh's new bride insists on seeing his Egyptian mummy, she is found dead.

  • Father Brown gets involved with MI5, which puts Lady Felicia in a compromising position.

  • A gruesome death on a local farm is blamed on the Kembleford physician through a series of poison pen letters. Father Brown must figure out who sent them in order to save his friend from the gallows.

  • Father Brown finds himself immobilized with a broken leg when a member of Kembleford's WI dies in mysterious circumstances. Can he crack the case armed only with a telescope and the gang to help?

  • The mysterious disappearance of an old friend sends Father Brown and Sid on a quest to find the mythical Lannington Rosary. However can an old adversary, back from the dead, be trusted to help?

  • When convicted killer Violet is given a temporary reprieve from the gallows, she begs Father Brown to prove her innocence. With only three days in hand, can he find the real culprit before it's too late?

  • The grand opening of Pryde Castle ends in disaster when a guide is struck by an arrow. Contrary to Inspector Sullivan, Father Brown becomes convinced that the motive lies buried in the family's past.

  • When an ex-serviceman drops dead in the street, Father Brown investigates the facility where he was a patient. Could something sinister lie beneath the surface at Danvers Retreat?

  • Father Brown is skeptical when a parishioner believes she's being haunted by her sister who went missing years ago. However, when she herself vanishes, he must investigate both disappearances.

Most Popular Father Brown Episodes

  • Season 1 Episode 8 The Actor and the Alibi 11/14/1974
  • Season 3 Episode 15 The Owl of Minerva 1/23/2015
  • Season 3 Episode 14 The Deadly Seal 1/22/2015
  • Season 3 Episode 1 The Man in the Shadows 1/05/2015

Review Father Brown