Any Human Heart

Watch Any Human Heart

  • 2011
  • 1 Season
  • 7.8  (2,334)

Any Human Heart is a British television drama series that premiered on Channel 4 in 2010. The show is based on the novel of the same name by William Boyd and stars Jim Broadbent in the lead role of Logan Mountstuart. The series follows Logan Mountstuart's journey through life, told through a series of personal diaries. Starting in the 1920s, the show takes us through the different stages of Logan's life, including his time at Oxford University, his career as a writer, his experiences during WWII, his relationships and marriages, and his eventual old age.

At its core, the show is a character study of Logan Mountstuart. We see him as a young man full of promise, with a charming personality and a talent for writing. As he navigates through life, we see the highs and lows of his journey. The show explores deep themes such as love, loss, tragedy, and redemption.

Jim Broadbent delivers an unforgettable performance as Logan Mountstuart. He manages to embody the character throughout his life, from his youthful exuberance to his old age, wisdom, and regret. It is difficult not to sympathize with Logan's struggles as he tries to find meaning in life and make sense of the world around him.

One of the standout features of the show is its incredible attention to detail. The costumes and set design are beautifully done, perfectly capturing the different eras of Logan's life. In addition, the show incorporates real-life events throughout Logan's journey, including the rise of the Nazis during WWII and the cultural revolution of the 1960s.

Throughout the series, we are introduced to a cast of supporting characters who play significant roles in Logan's life. These include his childhood friend Peter Scabius (Sam Claflin), his first girlfriend and lover Lottie (Emerald Fennell), his wife Freya (Hayley Atwell), and many others. Each of these characters adds depth to Logan's story, highlighting different aspects of his personality and helping us understand his motivations.

While Any Human Heart is a drama series, it also has its comedic moments. Logan's wry sense of humor is prevalent throughout the show, which adds a lighthearted touch to an otherwise heavy story.

One of the most heartwarming aspects of the show is Logan's love for literature. As a writer himself, Logan is shown reading and discussing various books throughout his journey. The show features cameos from famous writers such as Virginia Woolf and Ernest Hemingway, adding to the literary feel of the series.

Any Human Heart is a deeply poignant and moving show that will stay with you long after the credits roll. It is a beautifully crafted story that captures the essence of what it means to be human - the joys, the sorrows, and the moments in between.

Any Human Heart
Filter by Source
No sources available
Do you have Hulu?
What are you waiting for?
Nice! Browse Hulu with Yidio.
Ad Info - This show may not be available on Hulu
Episode 6
6. Episode 6
January 1, 1970
Episode 5
5. Episode 5
January 1, 1970
Events in New York force Logan to quickly leave America and he starts to adjust to a more meagre life in England. It is the 1970s and for Logan, reality bites. A visit from Gloria and Logan
Any Human Heart
4. Any Human Heart
June 11, 2011
Logan is released from hospital after making a slow recovery from a traffic accident. But times are hard, and lacking in funds he has to be resourceful in an attempt to live what remains…
Series 1 Episode 3
3. Series 1 Episode 3
December 5, 2010
Following some personal tragedy, Logan appears to have moved on and found success and happiness in the art world of New York.
Series 1 Episode 2
2. Series 1 Episode 2
November 28, 2010
Working as a journalist during the Spanish Civil War, Logan confides in Hemingway, knowing he must make decisions about Freya and Lottie.
Season 1 Episode 1
1. Season 1 Episode 1
January 6, 2011
Logan is released from hospital after making a slow recovery from a traffic accident. But times are hard, and lacking in funds he has to be resourceful in an attempt to live what remains...
  • Premiere Date
    January 6, 2011
  • IMDB Rating
    7.8  (2,334)