Breaking Down the Bars

Watch Breaking Down the Bars

  • 2011
  • 1 Season
  • 6.5  (25)

Breaking Down the Bars is a documentary series that premiered on Oprah Winfrey's network, OWN, in 2011. The show follows the lives of incarcerated women at the Kentucky Correctional Institute for Women as they go through a rigorous rehabilitative program. The show's main focus is on the women themselves, profiling their personal stories and how they landed in prison. The inmates come from a wide range of backgrounds and have varying offenses, but they all share a desire to turn their lives around and return to society as better versions of themselves.

Throughout the course of the show, viewers get to know the inmates through interviews and interactions with one another. The women discuss their struggles, their hopes, and their fears, offering the audience a rare look into the lives of those behind bars.

The show also highlights the rehabilitative program that the women are enrolled in. The program aims to teach practical life skills, such as job training and parenting classes, as well as address deeper issues such as addiction and trauma. The program is led by a team of dedicated staff members who work tirelessly to help the inmates achieve their goals.

Breaking Down the Bars was praised for its honest and sympathetic portrayal of the incarcerated women, as well as its exploration of the complex issues surrounding incarceration in the United States. The show offers a rare and important look at the lives of those who are often marginalized in society, and provides insight into the ways in which the criminal justice system can better serve its citizens.

Overall, Breaking Down the Bars is a thought-provoking and emotionally resonant series that offers a unique perspective on the lives of incarcerated women. Its emphasis on rehabilitation rather than punishment makes it a valuable addition to the discussion surrounding criminal justice reform.

Breaking Down the Bars is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (7 episodes). The series first aired on February 15, 2011.

Filter by Source

Beyond the Bars
7. Beyond the Bars
March 29, 2011
Summary not available
If I Had a Daughter in Here
6. If I Had a Daughter in Here
March 22, 2011
Summary not available
A Lot to Be Angry About
5. A Lot to Be Angry About
March 15, 2011
Summary not available
An Offender Mentality
4. An Offender Mentality
March 8, 2011
Hannah is held back in the CLIFF program because she was dishonest. Nicole learns she's been granted an early release, leaves prison and enters work release. And nine years after killing her husband, Lisa finally attempts introspection.
Walking a Fine Line
3. Walking a Fine Line
March 1, 2011
Summary not available
The Recovery Process
2. The Recovery Process
February 22, 2011
Summary is not available.
You're Not Here to Make Friends
1. You're Not Here to Make Friends
February 15, 2011
Summary is not available.
Where to Watch Breaking Down the Bars
Breaking Down the Bars is available for streaming on the OWN website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Breaking Down the Bars on demand at Philo.
  • Premiere Date
    February 15, 2011
  • IMDB Rating
    6.5  (25)