Watch Superboy

  • TV-PG
  • 1988
  • 4 Seasons
  • 6.2  (1,445)

Superboy is an American television series that aired in syndication from 1988 to 1992. The show was based on the DC comics character Superboy, who is also known as Clark Kent when he is not wearing his iconic red and blue costume. The show was produced by Alexander and Ilya Salkind, who also produced the Superman films in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

The show starred Stacy Haiduk as Lana Lang and Gerard Christopher as Clark Kent/Superboy. Haiduk’s portrayal of Lana Lang was praised by many fans of the series, as she brought a sense of depth and realism to the character that had previously been lacking in previous adaptations. Christopher’s portrayal of Superboy was also well-received, as he brought a sense of charm and wit to the character, while still embodying the heroic qualities that fans had come to expect from the character.

The show takes place in the fictional town of Shuster University, which is named after Superman’s co-creator, Joe Shuster. The town is located in Florida, which gives the show a unique setting among other superhero stories. The show follows the adventures of Superboy and Lana as they investigate various crimes and protect the citizens of Shuster University from super-powered threats.

One of the most unique aspects of Superboy is the way it handles the character’s origin story. Unlike other adaptations of the character, the show does not focus on his infant years on Krypton or his upbringing in Smallville. Instead, the show takes place during Superboy’s college years, which allows the show to explore new aspects of the character’s development that had not been previously explored.

The supporting cast of Superboy is also notable, as it includes a number of characters that were created specifically for the show. One of the most memorable of these is Professor Phineas Potter, who is played by Sherman Hemsley. Potter is a brilliant inventor who helps Superboy on a number of occasions throughout the series. Another notable character is TJ White, who is played by Jim Calvert. TJ is the editor of the Shuster Herald, the local newspaper, and is a frequent ally of Superboy.

Overall, Superboy was a well-received adaptation of the classic DC character, thanks in large part to the strong performances of its cast and its unique setting. While the show is not as well-known as other superhero adaptations from the era, it remains a beloved cult classic among fans of the character and fans of superhero television in general.

Superboy is a series that is currently running and has 4 seasons (100 episodes). The series first aired on October 8, 1988.

Filter by Source

Rites of Passage (2)
22. Rites of Passage (2)
May 17, 1992
Superboy is on the verge of losing his powers forever, which causes his alter ego of Clark Kent to search for the elusive crystal which holds the key to his past and will ultimately lead him through his "Rites Of Passage."
Rites of Passage (1)
21. Rites of Passage (1)
May 10, 1992
Superboy looses his powers and now an investigation begins to discover the curious force that caused it.
20. Metamorphosis
May 3, 1992
Superboy continues to battle changing evil in "Metamorphosis."
Obituary for a Super Hero
19. Obituary for a Super Hero
April 26, 1992
Lex Luthor has just hit Superboy with a deadly kryptonite bomb. Now he gloriously recounts in detail how he planned and executed the devious plan, which he feels certain has killed Superboy.
Cat and Mouse
18. Cat and Mouse
April 19, 1992
Superboy gets entagled in a dangerous game of "Cat And Mouse."
Who Is Superboy?
17. Who Is Superboy?
March 1, 1992
Superboy's secret identity is challenged in "Who Is Superboy?"
Out of Luck
16. Out of Luck
February 23, 1992
Superboy continues to battle evil in "Out Of Luck."
Threesome (2)
15. Threesome (2)
February 16, 1992
Superboy continues to battle the newly formed threesome of Lex Luthor, Metallo and Dr. Odessa Vexman. As their destructive potential continues to rise, Superboy must stop them before it's too late.
Threesome (1)
14. Threesome (1)
February 9, 1992
A prison psychiatrist helps Lex Luthor and Metallo escape, all three quickly turning their attention to stopping Superboy once and for all.
West of Alpha Centauri
13. West of Alpha Centauri
February 2, 1992
Superboy is kidnapped by an alien force and taken to a paradise planet near Alpha Centauri. Will he ever return?
To Be Human (2)
12. To Be Human (2)
January 26, 1992
Chaos has captured Superboy and plans to throw him off the roof of Capital City's tallest building at midnight. Now human, Bizarro must restore his powers in order to stop Chaos and save Superboy.
To Be Human (1)
11. To Be Human (1)
January 19, 1992
While trying to help Bizarro with his depression, Superboy's powers are weakened, leaving him vulnerable to the evil villain Chaos, who plans to destroy him once and for all.
Into the Mystery
10. Into the Mystery
December 8, 1991
While saving a young man, Superboy encounters a ghostly woman, which leads him on a search for his Aunt Cassandra, who he hasn't seen since he was a child.
Hell Breaks Loose
9. Hell Breaks Loose
December 1, 1991
A troublesome ghost is haunting the Bureau, wrecking havoc on the office and its employees. To stop him Superboy and Lana must discover the secret as to how the ghost was killed in the building fifty years earlier...
Know Thine Enemy (2)
8. Know Thine Enemy (2)
November 24, 1991
Superboy is trapped inside Lex Luthor's virtual reality computer program, and now Lana must enter the program to save Superboy before it's too late.
Know Thine Enemy (1)
7. Know Thine Enemy (1)
November 17, 1991
Lex Luthor has a plan to destroy the world's population with a series of dirty bombs, but first he must get rid of Superboy.
6. Paranoia
November 10, 1991
Paranoia strangles Capital City as residents become fearful of a race of invisible aliens who have just landed.
Darla Goes Ballistic
5. Darla Goes Ballistic
November 3, 1991
A strange formula gives Darla erratic powers, causing her to attack Superboy.
The Basement
4. The Basement
October 27, 1991
Lana discovers an alien in her basement who steals her identity.
The Kryptonite Kid
3. The Kryptonite Kid
October 20, 1991
Kryptonite infects a young scientist during a lab explosion, causing him to use his new found powers against Superboy.
A Change of Heart (2)
2. A Change of Heart (2)
October 13, 1991
Lana's life is in peril as Adam blackmails Tommy into creating a weapon to kill Superboy.
A Change of Heart (1)
1. A Change of Heart (1)
October 6, 1991
A wave of violence has broken out within the city, sending Superboy into tension-filled investigation. Little does he know he will soon be accused of murder.
Where to Watch Superboy
Superboy is available for streaming on the Syndicated website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Superboy on demand at Amazon, Microsoft Movies & TV, Google Play and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    October 8, 1988
  • IMDB Rating
    6.2  (1,445)