Swiss Family Robinson

Watch Swiss Family Robinson

  • 1974
  • 4 Seasons
  • 6.9  (166)

The 1970s television show, Swiss Family Robinson, tells the story of a family marooned on a deserted island. The cast includes Chris Wiggins as the father, Ernest Robinson, and Diana Leblanc as his wife, Anna Robinson. The Robinson family consists of the parents, their three sons, and a daughter, who are on their way to New Guinea when their ship is hit by a storm and sunk. They all survive and wash ashore on a tropical island, where they must learn to live without the conveniences of modern life.

The show is based on the novel, The Swiss Family Robinson, by Johann David Wyss. The novel was published in 1812 and has been adapted for various media, including movies and television shows. The 1974 television show was produced by CTV and ran for 26 episodes.

The Robinson family has to face many challenges on the island. They must find food, shelter, and water. They also have to fend off dangerous wild animals and figure out how to communicate with the outside world. The family uses their resourcefulness and ingenuity to create a comfortable life for themselves on the island.

Ernest Robinson, played by Chris Wiggins, is the head of the household. He is a skilled man who knows how to build things and hunt. He is also a loving father who cares deeply for his family. Wiggins does an excellent job portraying a responsible and caring father who is always looking out for the well-being of his family.

Anna Robinson, played by Diana Leblanc, is the mother of the family. She is a nurturing woman who takes care of her children and tries to maintain a sense of normalcy on the island. Leblanc brings a warmth and gentleness to her character that makes the viewer feel comfortable and safe.

The Robinson children are played by actors Michael Duhig, Adam Fried, Eric Hogan, and Heather Graham. Each child brings a unique personality to the show, which adds to the family dynamic. The children grow and change throughout the course of the show, as they learn to adapt to their new environment.

The show is set on a beautiful tropical island, which serves as the perfect backdrop for the Robinson family's story. The scenery is breathtaking, and the show makes excellent use of it. The audience is transported to a different world, one in which the beauty of nature is the only thing that matters.

Swiss Family Robinson is a family-friendly show that is perfect for all ages. The show promotes values such as resourcefulness, determination, and family values. It also teaches viewers the importance of using their skills and talents to survive in difficult situations.

Overall, Swiss Family Robinson is an excellent television show that is worth watching. The acting is superb, the scenery is breathtaking, and the story is engaging. The show is a testament to the human spirit and the ability to survive against all odds. It is a classic that will be enjoyed for generations to come.

Swiss Family Robinson is a series that is currently running and has 4 seasons (63 episodes). The series first aired on August 12, 1974.

Swiss Family Robinson
Filter by Source

13. Australia
January 1, 1989
Arriving in Australia, the Robinsons are reintroduced to civilization -- and to some old friends.
Together on the High Seas
12. Together on the High Seas
January 1, 1989
The excitement of the trip turns to desperation when, after three weeks at sea, food and water run short. A fresh palm leaf promises that land is near.
Good-Bye Island Home
11. Good-Bye Island Home
January 1, 1989
Though getting away has long been their dream, the Robinsons find it hard to say good-bye to their island home and the exciting life they found there.
Don't Abandon the Goats!
10. Don't Abandon the Goats!
January 1, 1989
Morton is adamant -- no animals on board. Space and supplies are limited, but Becca can't face leaving their animal friends behind.
The Boat Awaits
9. The Boat Awaits
January 1, 1989
While the castaways wait for a favorable tide, they struggle over what to do with their animals.
Donkey, Don't Lie
8. Donkey, Don't Lie
January 1, 1989
With grueling effort, the boat is completed. The donkey helps with the launch -- the last work he is ever to do for the Robinsons.
Shipbuilding Again
7. Shipbuilding Again
January 1, 1989
Ernest and Morton devise a last-chance plan to escape from the island. Morton directs the shipbuilding, and everyone pitches in.
The Sea Calls
6. The Sea Calls
January 1, 1989
While the Robinsons worry about how to leave the island, Morton returns suffering from exposure to the sun, and they learn they have misjudged him.
Day of Terror
5. Day of Terror
January 1, 1989
As rumblings spread over the island, the animals grow restless and the people worried. During the night an earthquake hits, collapsing the cave.
4. Volcano
January 1, 1989
Volcanic activity threatens the island, and Morton decides it is time to leave. He takes a canoe and supplies from the Robinsons, and secretly paddles off.
Riding Big Bird
3. Riding Big Bird
January 1, 1989
Tomtom's skills offer exciting opportunities for the Robinsons. He introduces Mrs. Robinson to new island foods, and helps the children capture and train an ostrich.
Morton the Grump
2. Morton the Grump
January 1, 1989
Morton is grumpy and troublesome, drinking the medicinal alcohol and offering the children cigars. But when Becca gets into a tight spot, she discovers a warmer side to the gruff captain.
Becca Does Her Best
1. Becca Does Her Best
January 1, 1989
The young Aborigine Tomtom was orphaned when white settlers killed his parents. When he learns the Robinsons were headed to Australia as colonists, he rejects their friendship, and it takes all Becca's ingenuity to change his mind.
Where to Watch Swiss Family Robinson
Swiss Family Robinson is available for streaming on the CTV website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Swiss Family Robinson on demand at Amazon Prime, Amazon, Hoopla and Tubi TV.
  • Premiere Date
    August 12, 1974
  • IMDB Rating
    6.9  (166)