Watch Taggart

  • TV-14
  • 2002
  • 27 Seasons
  • 7.4  (2,024)

Taggart was a police procedural drama that aired on ITV from 1983 to 2010. The show was set in Glasgow, Scotland, and followed the work of the city's fictional Maryhill CID (Criminal Investigation Department). The show's titular character was originally played by actor Mark McManus, who portrayed the tough, no-nonsense Detective Chief Inspector (DCI) Jim Taggart until his untimely death in 1994. After McManus' passing, the show continued under a new lead character, DCI Mike Jardine (played by James MacPherson).

Throughout its run, Taggart was known for its gritty realism and attention to detail in portraying the realities of police work. The show's storylines were often dark and complex, dealing with murder, gang violence, and other serious crimes.

In addition to DCI Taggart and later DCI Jardine, the show featured a rotating cast of supporting characters, including other detectives, forensic scientists, and pathologists. These characters added depth and complexity to the show's world, and helped to create a sense of continuity across its many seasons.

Despite its serious subject matter, Taggart was not without humor. The show's characters often used dry wit and sarcasm to lighten the mood, and the rapport between the officers of the Maryhill CID was a major part of the show's appeal.

Over the years, Taggart underwent a number of changes both behind the scenes and onscreen. The show's producers experimented with different formats and story structures, and introduced new characters to keep things fresh. In 2010, however, after 27 years and 110 episodes, Taggart came to an end.

Despite its long run, the impact of Taggart is still felt today. The show helped to establish Glasgow as a backdrop for high-quality television drama, and paved the way for other successful Scottish shows like Shetland and River City.

Above all, Taggart was a testament to the power of compelling characters and engaging storytelling. Whether taking on petty criminals or unraveling deadly conspiracies, the officers of the Maryhill CID brought a sense of urgency and authenticity to every case they tackled.

Taggart is a series that is currently running and has 27 seasons (134 episodes). The series first aired on December 28, 2002.

Filter by Source

Ends of Justice
9. Ends of Justice
January 1, 1970
Freshly promoted Reid heads an investigation into a murdered street performer and the team welcomes DS Mita Rahim.
8. Bloodsport
October 30, 2010
A murdered boxer found by the expressway connects the team to an underground world of cage fighting and criminal activity.
The Ends of Justice
6. The Ends of Justice
November 7, 2010
Newly-promoted DI Reid leads the investigation into the fatal stabbing of a busker. DI Ross's personal problems continue to affect his professional life.
5. Bloodsport
October 31, 2010
A badly-beaten body is discovered by a motorway, and the investigation leads the team to an illegal bare-knuckle fighting ring. DI Ross has to face up to his gambling addiction.
Fallen Angels
4. Fallen Angels
October 24, 2010
A man and three of his children are found dead in their home, and a fourth child is critically ill. It initially appears that the father killed his children and took his own life, but forensic tests show that the father died first.
Silent Truth
3. Silent Truth
October 17, 2010
An Iranian refugee is burned to death, and the evidence points to a racially-motivated murder, but DCI Burke suspects otherwise, and the team uncovers a connection to a local drug dealer.
Abuse of Trust
2. Abuse of Trust
October 10, 2010
A shipworkers' trade union leader and his employer are both shot during an industrial dispute, the union man fatally. DCI Burke and the team suspect that this was a corporate killing.
Bad Medicine
1. Bad Medicine
October 3, 2010
The mutilated body of a torture victim is found in an empty warehouse. Detectives from the Met, investigating a similar case in London, arrive to help in the investigation.
Where to Watch Taggart
Taggart is available for streaming on the ITV website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Taggart on demand at Apple TV Channels and Amazon Prime.
  • Premiere Date
    December 28, 2002
  • IMDB Rating
    7.4  (2,024)