Watch The Elephant Princess

The Elephant Princess, also known as the Rock Princess in some countries, is an Australian television show for preteen girls that could probably be best described as a cross between Harry Potter and Sabrina the Teenage Witch. Though it's a lot better than it sounds.

Alex Wilson is a teenage girl living in Melbourne, Australia, where she is part of a rock band and has a crush on a boy named Marcus. Everything is perfectly normal until her sixteenth birthday, when a mysterious, exotic boy named Kuru and a magical elephant called Anala appear out of nowhere in her back yard. Kuku reveals to her that she is actually the princess of the magical kingdom Manjipoor. Alex doesn't believe him...until her powers kick in and she blows up the barbeque grill!

From there, Alex tries to find a balance between the worlds as she tries to decide where her destiny truly lies. There are adventures in the India themed Manjipoor as Alex and Kuru deal the plans of devious usurper Vashan and situations in the real world where Alex's attempts to learn new spells causes trouble for her and her friends.

The first season had 26 episodes that aired in Australia from fall 2008 to spring 2009. The second season aired three years later. It threw some more mystical elements and some darker, more complicated stories. Alex, her family and even her best friend move to the Golden Coast, where Alex's band gains a new drummer and more fame. In Manjipoor, a new and more powerful threat arises. Things are complicated by Alex gaining a new lover interest who may be a traitor and pull between being a princess and musician becomes stronger than before.

The show's mix of fantasy elements and real world problems has given it something of cult following. It has been aired in over two dozen countries in several languages. Fans love it, and it's not hard to see why. One wishes that a network in America would play it, hopefully in a good time slot, so it could gain new fans and more popularity.

Friday 5:00 PM et/pt on Ten
2 Seasons, 52 Episodes - Canceled
February 20, 2009
Action & Adventure, Family, Fantasy
Watch Episodes

The Elephant Princess Full Episode Guide

  • Diva's plan to break the barrier is coming together as she prepares to sacrifice Caleb to the vault of Dark Magic. But Alex won't let it happen. She isn't sure how to break the vault, and she can't match Diva's powers, but she'll have to think of something.

  • Alex and her friends learn from The Book, Diva learns by breaking into Caleb's memories, but they all learn that the vault of Dark Magic is the barrier between the two worlds and returning Dark Magic to the vault will destroy it. Is Diva planning to rule and destroy both worlds?!

  • The vault claims more control over Caleb as he loses the ability to jump and becomes prisoner to Diva. While Alex is desperate to help him there isn't a lot she can do, except wonder why Diva wants Caleb now that he's powerless...

Review The Elephant Princess