Hillbilly Summer

Watch Hillbilly Summer

  • 2013
  • 1 Season

Hillbilly Summer is an American television series that aired on Destination America in 2013. The show follows the lives of several Appalachian families as they prepare for and enjoy the summer months. The series showcases the unique lifestyle of these families, as they live off the land and rely on their own resources to survive. From hunting and fishing to canning and preserving food, each episode highlights the traditional practices and skills that have been passed down through generations.

One of the main families featured on the show is the Sturgill family, who live in the heart of the Appalachian Mountains in eastern Kentucky. The family consists of parents Jeff and Becky, and their children Haley, Jacob, and Ethan. Together, they run a small farm and live a self-sufficient lifestyle.

Throughout the series, viewers are introduced to the Sturgill's daily routines, which include gathering water from a mountain spring, tending to their vegetable garden, and raising livestock. They also demonstrate traditional skills such as blacksmithing and basket weaving.

Another family featured on the show is the Odom family, who live in the Ozark Mountains in northern Arkansas. The family consists of parents Rob and Tara, and their children Taylor, Mariah, and Levi. They operate a horse ranch and offer trail rides to visitors.

Viewers get a glimpse of the Odom's daily life, which includes caring for their horses and maintaining their property. They also offer a unique perspective on their local culture, showcasing traditional Ozark dance and music.

The show also highlights the natural beauty of the Appalachian Mountains and the Ozarks, showcasing various outdoor activities that families can enjoy during the summer months. These include kayaking, fishing, and camping.

Overall, Hillbilly Summer offers a charming and educational glimpse into the lives of families living off the land in Appalachia and the Ozarks. The show celebrates traditional practices and highlights the beauty of nature. It is a must-watch for anyone interested in rural culture and sustainable living.

Hillbilly Summer is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (3 episodes). The series first aired on August 24, 2013.

Filter by Source

Mud Country
3. Mud Country
September 2, 2013
Discover the world of mudding, where people race vehicles, wrestle, and pay to play to get down and dirty in the most popular mud parks in the United States. There's mud bogging, belly flop contests, a muddy bikini beach and all out mud competitions!
Hillbilly Thrill Rides Episode 2
2. Hillbilly Thrill Rides Episode 2
September 2, 2013
From human catapults to backyard amusement parks, Rednecks across America will go to any length to create some homemade summertime fun!
Hillbilly Thrill Rides Episode 1
1. Hillbilly Thrill Rides Episode 1
August 24, 2013
From giant human slingshots to backyard rollercoasters, Rednecks across America will go to any length to create their very own homemade summer amusements!
Where to Watch Hillbilly Summer
Hillbilly Summer is available for streaming on the Destination America website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Hillbilly Summer on demand at Amazon, Vudu, Google Play and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    August 24, 2013